10 Quotes that even Adults can learn from Dr. Seuss

Did you know that it’s Dr. Seuss’s birthday is Sunday? What an amazing, fun writer that has changed the lives of so many young readers! His fun way of rhyming and creating stories has touched so many people and he will forever be in our hearts.

I grew up listening to stories like “Green Eggs and Ham,” “Wacky Wednesday,” and “The Cat in the Hat.” I remember some of the lines even now….years later.

There were many lines from Dr. Seuss’s stories that we can learn from (yes, even adults can learn from children’s books).

Here are ten quotes from Dr. Seuss that I think are well written, thought out, and can even be life changing:

1. “Why fit in when you were born to stand out?” – Dr. Seuss

There is just so much in this line that I love. It’s so true! I try so hard every day to fit in with the people around me? I try to have the right job, the right friends, the healthy foods, etc. But I was born to stand out. I was born for a purpose. God has a purpose for me. And even though jobs, friends, and even food matters and IS important- don’t get too caught up in “keeping up with the Jone’s” when you have so much potential to be what God has created you to be!

2. “Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.” – Dr. Seuss in “Happy Birthday to You!”

Just a cute quote that I love! You are special! You are important! You matter!

3. “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.” – Dr. Seuss

I need to read this quote every time I leave my parents. We live in different states and it is so difficult saying goodbye. I need to remember this. It happened. Those memories were made and we had a blast! Don’t cry! Smile:)

4. “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…” – Dr. Seuss in “Oh, the Places You’ll Go!”

I feel like this is probably a quote that is used in a lot of graduation ceremonies. It’s so good for kids (I call them kids, but they are actually adults) just starting off after high school. Remember that you have brains in your head- use them to make wise choices. Use your brain to decide where to go.

5. “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, Nothing is going to get better. It’s not.” – Dr. Seuss in “The Lorax.”

This just reminds me of teamwork. It takes everyone caring. It takes both people in the relationship to make things work- it takes both people caring a “whole awful lot.” At home, at work, in friendships, in relationships in general it takes everyone involved caring “a whole awful lot.” Teamwork.

6. “You’ll miss the best things if you keep your eyes shut.” – Dr. Seuss in “I Can Read With My Eyes Shut!”

When my dad would take me on roller coaster rides I would keep my eyes shut the whole time and he would say, “You’re missing the beautiful view!” He was right! I missed the sights because I was afraid. I missed the best part because of fear. Don’t let fear keep you from missing the best things in life.

7. “I’m glad we had the times together just to laugh and sing a song, seems like we just got started and then before you know it, the times we had together were gone.” – Dr. Seuss

I heard a quote from the show “The Office” awhile back and it went like this, “I wish I knew I was in the “good-old times” before I ever left them. Doesn’t that just give you chills. That reminds me so much of this quote from Dr. Seuss- “before you know it, the times we had together were gone.” Enjoy every moment. Don’t take it for granted. Don’t take life for granted. Before you know it, it will be gone.

8. “To the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.” – Dr. Seuss

I find this to be the case very often when working at my church. I often feel like I am not making much of a difference. That what I do isn’t that important in the grand scheme of the whole church. However, God always reminds me in different ways that I am important. What I do is important. It may not be the world, but it matters.

9. “I know it is wet and the sun is not sunny, but we can have lots of good fun that is funny.” – Dr. Seuss in “The Cat in the Hat.”

I need to remember this on days where I am just grouchy and cranky. It may be raining and yucky, but we can still have fun. Change your attitude so that your kids see that even when it gets hard, you can still make the best of things.

10. “You’re never too old, too wacky, too wild, to pick up a book and read to a child.” – Dr. Seuss

Of course, the teacher in me is agreeing 100% with this quote. Pick up a book and read to your child, to your grandchildren, to the kids you babysit, etc. It’s so important. My mom read me Dr. Seuss books when I was young and I still remember them. Reading is so important to children!

Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss! Remember him this week by reading one of his books to your kiddos!

ec69f-signiture

Leave a Reply

